Test results and stages of CKD

Test results and stages of CKD

Your test results can be used to determine how damaged your kidneys are, known as the stage of CKD.

This can help your doctor decide the best treatment for you and determine how often you should have tests to monitor your condition.

Your eGFR result is given as a stage from one to five:

  • stage 1 (G1) – a normal eGFR (above 90ml/min), but other tests have detected signs of kidney damage
  • stage 2 (G2) – a slightly reduced eGFR (60-89ml/min), with other signs of kidney damage
  • stage 3a (G3a) – an eGFR of 45-59ml/min
  • stage 3b (G3b) – an eGFR of 30-44ml/min
  • stage 4 (G4) – an eGFR of 15-29ml/min
  • stage 5 (G5) – an eGFR below 15ml/min, meaning the kidneys have lost almost all of their function
Your eGFR result

Your ACR result is given as a stage from one to three:

  • A1 – an ACR of less than 3mg/mmol
  • A2 – an ACR of 3-30mg/mmol
  • A3 – an ACR of more than 30mg/mmol
Your ACR result

For both eGFR and ACR, a higher stage indicates more severe kidney disease.

Total Page Visits: 649 - Today Page Visits: 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About Us
Contact Us